Latest News

The Highway Cafe Meets Again Monday!

[image brought to you by Emilia Plater]

Long overdue*, we've decided to hold another Highway Cafe writing chat... TOMORROW!

What in the world is The Highway Cafe? It's a free-form writing chat open to everybody, but password-protected to create a safer space. It's just like hanging out with a boatload of writer friends in a cozy cafe, except you have to make your own drinks. Past participants have ranged from writing newbies to bestselling authors -- and of course, a bunch of YA Highway bloggers. It's always a surprise. Toward the end, we hold a 20-minute write, and check in (and share sentences!) afterward.

The Highway Cafe is located in SavorChat.* We'll be tweeting the link and the password before and during the meetup with the hashtag #HighwayCafe (so make sure you follow @yahighway on Twitter!)

Monday, November 14th
6pm PST/9pm EST – 8pm PST/11pm EST
If you can't make it this time, we hope you can make it next time!

*The gap was due to SavorChat behaving like a jerk last time, and not finding a quality replacement chat server. We'd like to try SavorChat again; but in case it gets all wonky, we need backup. Any recommendations?
Kirsten Hubbard

Kirsten is the author of Like Mandarin, Wanderlove, and the middle grade novel Watch the Sky.

Posts by Kirsten

website twitter instagram goodreads tumblr

  • Blogger Comments
  • Facebook Comments


  1. Oh, yay! I can actually make it to this one. I'm happy. :) (Usually, school zaps all my time, but I have a day off tomorrow.)
    I haven't used it much, but Chatzy is fantastic, and it uses a password.

    Can't wait til tomorrow!


Comments are moderated on posts two weeks old or more -- please send us a tweet if yours needs approval!

Item Reviewed: The Highway Cafe Meets Again Monday! Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Kirsten Hubbard